What are the steps to clean a cast iron skillet?

If you have properly seasoned your cast iron skillet, you should need nothing more than a dishcloth and hot water to clean it. You should not be using a steel wool soap pad or any other scraping device. Make certain it's dried thoroughly before storing the skillet.