What is a carnivorous tree?

A Carnivorous Tree can refer to any of the many legendary or cryptozoological carnivorous plants that are large enough to kill and consume a person or other large animal. In the real world, the largest known carnivorous plant is the Giant Montane Pitcher Plant that can grow big enough to eat rats.