Who is on the dime before f. d. r.?

Before FDR was on the dime, the ten cent piece bore an image of liberty wearing a cap. The cap had wings on it, symbolizing freedom of thought. Many people mistook this for an image of the ancient Greek god Mercury, so it was often called the mercury dime.