What gets ink out of a shirt?

Apply rubbing alcohol, or an aerosol hairspray, directly to the stain. The alcohol in these products is an excellent ink remover because it's very effective at breaking down the oils in permanent markers. Some people also find that an antibacterial hand wash is a good alternative.