Where does the concept of a month come from?

Long ago. The traditional concept arose with the cycle of Moon phases. A synodic month lasts approximately 29.53 days. From excavated tally sticks, researchers have deduced that people counted days in relation to the Moon's phases as early as the Paleolithic age. So, between 40,000 and 8000 BC.