How do you know if a dragon fruit is ready?

Ripe dragon fruit has a bright pink color with smooth skin. The dragon fruit should not be rock hard. Instead, let it ripen a little until the flesh gives a little big, similar to a ripe avocado. If the dragon fruit feels mushy, it is overripe.