Who wrote war what is it good for?

War what is it good for, are lyrics in the song War written by Norman Whitfield and Barrett Strong for the Motown label in 1969. The version by Edwin Starr was the 1st release of the song and topped the Billboard Hot 100 in 1970.

---

It was written by Norman Whitfield and recorded by Whitfield and the Temptations in 1969. The Edwin Starr cover is probably the definitive version.