Who owns hawaii?

The US government owns a generous slice of the Aloha State, holding title to a little under 531,000 acres of land in Hawai`i. The vast majority of that land (432,205 acres of it) is owned on the Big Island, where Uncle Sam operates the massive Hawai`i Volcanoes National Park.