How long does it take for bones to decompose?

It takes 40 to 50 years for the bones to become dry and brittle in a coffin. In soil of neutral acidity, bones may last for hundreds of years, while acid peaty soil gradually dissolves the bones.

---

it usually requires three weeks to several years for bones to completely decompose depending on factors such as temperature, humidity, presence of insects, and submergence in a substrate such as water.