Why is a truck called a truck?

The origin comes from the Latin, 'trochlea' - translating to 'pulley.' This became the word truckle, which meant, 'wheel, roller or pulley. Truck first appeared in writing in 1774 to describe a 'wheeled vehicle used for transporting heavy items.'