What's a kendo stick?

Kendo stick or shinai is made of 4 pieces of bamboo and used in kendo. The Japanese character (kanji) for shinai is “bamboo sword”. Thus, those who practice kendo (kendo-ka) treat shinais as real swords. Shinai is made of bamboo because it does not hurt training partners during training.