Who is the first female rock and roll star?

Janis Joplin was one of the first female artists to break the "girl singer" mold in rock music in the mid-'60s. Her fusion of rock and blues influenced both male and female artists. Her breakthrough came after performing with Big Brother and The Holding Company at the Monterey Pop Festival in 1967.