What does a otter eat?

River otters eat a variety of aquatic wildlife, such as fish, crayfish, crabs, frogs, birds' eggs, birds and reptiles such as turtles. They have also been known to eat aquatic plants and to prey on other small mammals, such as muskrats or rabbits.

---

Both river and sea otters are carnivorous, meaning they eat meat. Based on location, they may eat slow-moving fish, mussels, shellfish, crabs, amphibians and even small mammals.