How do you spider-man shoot webs?

Spiderman has wrist-mounted devices that fire an adhesive "webbing". In the "Disassembled" storyline Peter Parker undergoes a transformation that gives him the ability to produce organic web fluid from his wrists, and is able to fire his webbing in much the same manner as his artificial web-shooters