What did billie joe mcallister throw off the tallahatchie bridge?

"The Ode to Billie Joe" by Bobby Gentry does not make that clear, though most people infer that it was the newborn conceived by Billie Joe and the narrator. Gentry has been reluctant to clarify, intending the song as testament to the casual cruelty of gossip.