What does to equip bow mean in english?

If you’re playing a game, it probably means that you’ll start carrying it around so you can use it immediately instead of putting it away in your inventory, where it’ll take you longer to reach it. Most of the time you can only equip one weapon or one kind of weapon at the same time.