How do you tell how far away lightning strikes?

Count the number of seconds that pass between a flash of lightning and the crack of thunder that follows it, then divide that number by five. The resulting number will tell you how many miles away you are from where lightning just struck.

---

for every 5 seconds between lightning and thunder the distance is one mile. . Divide the seconds by 5 and you'll get the distance in miles