When did queen elizabeth take the throne in england?

Elizabeth II (Elizabeth Alexandra Mary Windsor), Queen of the United Kingdom and the other Commonwealth realms, is the longest reigning monarch in British history. She became queen of Great Britain and Northern Ireland on February 6, 1952, following the death of her father, King George VI.