Who sings smile though your heart is aching?

Wonderful question. Charlie Chaplin wrote the music for his 1936 movie, Modern Times. John Turner and Geoffrey Parsons wrote the lyrics and named it Smile, in 1954. Nat King Cole was the first to record it in 1954. It has been covered many times, including a versions by Sammy Davis Jr.