What is the last stick mean?

This is a game where 2 players have to play each other. You can play against another player on the same screen or against Stickor the robot. On a 20-stick board, each time a player has to play, he must pick 1, 2 or 3 sticks from the board. In the end, the player left with the last stick is the loser