Do deer eat squash?

Deer will “browse” on most anything when wild food sources are low. ... Certain plants, such as rhubarb, are toxic to deer. Deer usually also avoid root vegetables (which require digging) and prickly vegetables such as cucumbers and squashes with hairy leaves.