Why is mississippi poor?

There are a variety of reasons why Mississippi is poor, but it can be traced back to Mississippi never fully recovering after the Civil War, and the racism against minorities, especially blacks, put a hamper on black communities which make up nearly 40% of the population in Mississippi.