What is modern day mesopotamia?

Mesopotamia (meaning "between two rivers" in Greek) was an ancient region located in the eastern Mediterranean, bordered in the northeast by the Zagros Mountains, and in the southeast by the Arabian Plateau, corresponding mainly to today's Iraq, but also to part of modern-day Iran, Syria and Turkey.