What's the difference between a purple finch and a house finch?

House finches are a classic red or red-orange like a ripe strawberry, while purple finches are more of a dark pink or rosy hue similar to a raspberry or red wine. Purple finches also have much more extensive red extending on the crown, nape, back, chest, cheeks, and flanks.