What is a cross theater?

A "Cross" is simply moving from one part of the stage to another. The director might say "cross left" or "cross down center right". (see STAGE POSITIONS section) In the script you might see it notated as "X". A "Counter cross" is a cross a performer takes to adjust for the cross of another actor.