Help make Alexa smarter on Alexa Answers. Sign in with Amazon

Food

Why is maple syrup not vegan?

2 Answers

Because some producer use milk butter from various animals or honey flavors to their syrups. Also animal farm used to be used to defoam the syrup, however most defoamers are now used with vegetable oil.

{{ relativeTimeResolver(1665932652782) }}

LIVE
Points points 3
Rating

Maple syrup is vegan as long as the defoaming agent is not animal-based. Some producers use a fat or oil to control the boil, just as a home cook might use a dollop of butter or oil when cooking jelly. Some defoamers are animal-based such as beef fat or butter, and some are vegetable-based.

{{ relativeTimeResolver(1670525415783) }}

LIVE
Points points 2
Rating

Similar Questions
Food 1 Answer
Join Alexa Answers

Help make Alexa smarter and share your knowledge with the world

LEARN MORE

Join Alexa Answers

Help make Alexa smarter and share your knowledge with the world

LEARN MORE