Why is maple syrup not vegan?

Because some producer use milk butter from various animals or honey flavors to their syrups. Also animal farm used to be used to defoam the syrup, however most defoamers are now used with vegetable oil.

---

Maple syrup is vegan as long as the defoaming agent is not animal-based. Some producers use a fat or oil to control the boil, just as a home cook might use a dollop of butter or oil when cooking jelly. Some defoamers are animal-based such as beef fat or butter, and some are vegetable-based.