Who invented chili soup?

immigrants from the Canary Islands brought a recipe for chili with them when they settled San Antonio in the early 1700s. Historians do know that chili was a popular meal amongst cowboys and pioneers on the Western frontier. In the 1880s, chili stands became popular in San Antonio.