What does it mean when a bunny is shaking?

The common causes of shaking are fear, nervousness, and stress. A less obvious cause of trembling is heat, as rabbits do not tolerate high temperatures well. If your rabbit is lying on its side and shaking, it could be due to a digestive issue (GI stasis). Also, it may have ingested something toxic.