How is a queen bee born?

A bee becomes a queen bee thanks to the efforts of the existing worker bees in the hive. A young larva is fed special food called "royal jelly" by the worker bees. Royal jelly is richer than the food given to worker larvae, and is necessary for the larva to develop into a fertile queen bee.