What is a high pitch?

A high pitch refers to a sound that is perceived as being at a higher frequency or higher tone than other sounds. In terms of music, a high pitch refers to a note that is played or sung at a higher frequency than other notes. A bird chirping is typically considered to be a high-pitched sound.