Is the cloud cold?

Clouds within a mile or so of Earth's surface tend to cool more than they warm. These low, thicker clouds mostly reflect the Sun's heat. This cools Earth's surface. Clouds high up in the atmosphere have the opposite effect: They tend to warm Earth more than they cool.