How often do dogs need their anals expressed?

It varies. These glands express naturally; however, some dogs get their glands manually expressed a couple times a year. Some pet parents bring their dogs in every month (or more often) if their dogs have been having recurring issues. The key thing is to monitor your dog for the symptoms.