Who is the first group to perform on soul train?

Soul Train initially aired Aug. 17, 1970 on Chicago television station WCIU-TV, with Jerry Butler, the Chi-Lites, & the Emotions as guests. According to Essense, the first syndicated episode of “Soul Train” aired October 2, 1971, featuring a performance by Gladys Knight & The Pips.