Is the word four an adjective?

Yes - it can be, depending on the way it is used in the sentence. Numbers, when used to modify nouns, phrases or pronouns, are adjectives. Leia saw four cars. In this sentence, four is describing how many cars there are. Numbers can be nouns or adverbs too depending on usage.