What is tom and jerry?

Tom and Jerry is an American cartoon franchise and comedy short films created in 1940 by William Hanna and Joseph Barbera. Best known for its 161 theatrical short films by Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, the series centers on the rivalry between the main characters of a cat named Tom and a mouse named Jerry.