What is mochi cake?

Traditional Japanese mochi is made from sweet rice flour mixed with water, steamed, formed into small patties filled with sweetened red bean paste and lightly dusted with confectioner's sugar. Mochi cake is a westernized version of the traditional mochi with butter, milk, eggs, vanilla and is baked.