What is omniscient used for?

Omniscient is a writing form and a kind of 3rd person. Omniscient means all knowing which makes sense because omniscient 3rd person is like a narrator that can read all the characters thoughts and feelings while Omniscient limited is a narrator that knows what one person thinks and feels.