How is the bagel invented?

One of the earliest mentions of a bread that was shaped similar to today’s bagel was a Polish bread called obwarzanek that dates as far back as 1394. Other stories point to ancient Egypt and the Mediterranean area as the first time rolls with holes in the middle were first enjoyed.