What's in a hamburger?

If the hamburger is pure and high-quality, the only ingredient should be ground beef, usually ground chuck, which is a cheap, tasty cut of beef. Sometimes spices, salt, or flavorings are added to the mix, but most people prefer to salt and spice the burger when it is cooking.