How do you get coconut out of a shell?

Holding the coconut with a towel, firmly tap it with a mallet or hammer, turning as needed, until the shell starts cracking in half. Split the shell, & put the coconut cut side down on a flat surface. Tap with the hammer to loosen the flesh. Pry the flesh away from the shell with a butter knife.