What is ham boning?

A series of rhythmic slaps and pats on the body to create music.

---

The Juba dance or hamboning, originally known as Pattin' Juba, is an African American style of dance that involves stomping as well as slapping and patting the arms, legs, chest, and cheeks. "Pattin' Juba" would be used to keep time for other dances during a walkaround.