Do geraniums need full sun?

The best exposure is full sun in the morning with light afternoon shade. High summer heat can take its toll on these plants. Many common geraniums stop blooming in sizzling weather, a condition known as "heat check." (They'll resume blooming when cooler weather arrives.)