How many elements are in gold?

Gold is a chemical element with the symbol Au and atomic number 79, making it one of the higher atomic number elements that occur naturally. It is classified as a transition metal. Gold atoms have 79 electrons and 79 protons with 118 neutrons in the most abundant isotope.