How does the enchantment mending work?

The Mending enchantment uses experience to mend your equipped tools, weapons and armor. Each time you gain experience by killing mobs or mining certain items, the experience earned will automatically be used to repair any damaged tools, weapons or armor that are equipped (and enchanted with Mending)