Can cheese be composted?

According to several sources, cheese technically can be composted because it will degrade. However, it is not recommended to compost cheese or any other dairy product, such as milk or yogurt, as they are attractive to pests.

---

Like ALL ORGANIC MATTER, dairy products CAN be composted if you deal with the odor of rapid decomposition to avoid vermin. Bury dairy products deeply in a compost pile &mix them with leaves or sawdust to add counterbalancing carbon materials to the high nitrogen content of dairy products. PerSfGate