Is melatonin a placebo?

Melatonin is not intentionally used as a placebo, but according to the American Academy of Sleep Medicine, and the American College of Physicians, there's not enough strong evidence on the effectiveness or safety of melatonin supplementation for chronic insomnia to recommend its use.