How do you start a chainsaw?

You start a chainsaw by first priming the fuel system using the primer ball, a small flexible rubber-like, finger-sized protrusion near the carburator, until the ball is firm. Then pull the starter rope. But if you don't know how to start a chainsaw, you are probably not safe in using one.