What number on the beaufort wind scale corresponds to hurricane force?

The Beaufort Wind Force Scale was developed in the early 1800s and is not considered a reliable measure today. However, for sake of comparison, a Saffir-Simpson Hurricane Scale Category 1 is roughly equivalent to a Beaufort number 12.