Why are hot dogs called dogs?

According to Wikipedia, the best known version is that of a butcher from Frankfurt, Germany. In 1852, he decided to name the sausages he made with his dog's breed name: Dachshund. Charles Feltman took this sausage to the US in 1880. There, he created a hot sandwich with bread, sausage and sauces.