Why do geese fly in a v. formation?

As geese fly, they flap their wings and generate lift. All this flapping, creates an updraft in the air currents around the bird's wingtips. Another bird can spend less energy by flying in this sweet spot. It's located slightly behind and above the first bird. This creates a V.